Meet the Director

Peter G. Schulam, MD, PhD

Director, Yale Cancer Center & Physician-in-Chief, Smilow Cancer Hospital (Interim)
Professor of Urology and Surgery, Yale School of Medicine
Chair, Department of Urology

Peter G. Schulam, MD, PhD, was appointed the Director of Yale Cancer Center and Physician-in-Chief of Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven (Interim) on September 1, 2015. Since 2012 he has served as the inaugural Chief of the Department of Urology at Yale-New Haven Hospital and Chair of the department at Yale School of Medicine.

Prior to joining Yale, Dr. Schulam was at the Ronald Reagan Medical Center at University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) where he served as vice chair of Urology, chief of the division of Endourology and minimally invasive surgery, and director of the surgical living kidney donor program. Dr. Schulam was also the Henry E. Singleton Professor of Urology and founder and co-director of the Center for Advanced Surgical and Interventional Technology.

Dr. Schulam has longstanding clinical interests in prostate and kidney cancer and living kidney donation and is nationally recognized for his expertise in minimally invasive surgery.

A native of New Haven, Dr. Schulam was a recipient of the Medical Scientist Training Program award and received his Medical Degree as well as his PhD in Immunology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. He completed his urology residency at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, Maryland.

Since joining Yale, Dr. Schulam has established one of the largest urology departments in the Northeast.  He has built a multidisciplinary team in urologic oncology and has assisted in the recruitment of Dr. Daniel Petrylak in urologic medical oncology and Dr. Peter Humphrey in genitourinary pathology.  He has established a program for MRI-fusion guided biopsy of prostate cancer and leads a research program focused on prostate cancer imaging.  He is also a member of Yale Cancer Center’s Radiology and Radiotherapy Research Program and the Clinical Program Leader of the Prostate and Urologic Cancers Program.