Skip to Main Content

Yale Cancer Center Awards for Clinical Excellence presented during annual Conclave

January 21, 2020

Debra Brandt, D.O. and Kevin Kim, M.D. were each honored with the Yale Cancer Center (YCC) Award for Clinical Excellence at YCC’s annual Conclave on Monday, January 13. The night celebrated the accomplishments of goals set for 2019 and honored faculty and staff with clinical and research prizes. The award for Clinical Excellence is given annually to YCC clinicians who best exemplify excellence in clinical care including superb clinical skills, use of patient- and family-centered approach to care, and inclusion of a multidisciplinary care model. 

Brandt is an Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine (Medical Oncology) and Medical Director of the Smilow Cancer Hospital Care Center at Torrington. “Dr. Brandt is a truly exceptional doctor who advocates for her patients in every way, exhibits compassion and empathy for her patients as a mentor and teacher,” said Anne Chiang, M.D., Chief Network Officer for the Smilow Cancer Hospital Network, who presented Brandt with the award. “We thank her for all she has done for her patients and the community and the high standards and keen intelligence that she brings to all that she does.” 

Kim is a Professor of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging, Professor of Medicine (Medical Oncology) and Section Chief of Interventional Radiology at YCC and Smilow Cancer Hospital. Benjamin Judson, M.D., Chief Ambulatory Officer for Smilow Cancer Hospital, presented Kim with his award, “Dr. Kim brings an essential level of expertise that our community of physicians and staff reaches out to continuously to take good care of our patients. He is always available and brings exceptional care to several clinical programs in Smilow.”  

It is the first time a faculty member from Radiology and Biomedical Imaging has won a Clinical Excellence award.

A full list of past Conclave awardees is online at:

Submitted by Anne Doerr on January 20, 2020