Skip to Main Content

Dr. Lieping Chen of Yale Cancer Center Elected 2021 Fellow of AACR Academy

April 01, 2021

Lieping Chen, MD, PhD, United Technologies Corporation Professor in Cancer Research, Professor of Immunobiology, Dermatology, and of Medicine (Medical Oncology), and Co-Leader of the Cancer Immunology Program at Yale Cancer Center, has been elected as a Fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Academy. AACR Academy Fellows serve as a global brain trust of top contributors to cancer science and medicine who help advance the mission of the AACR to prevent and cure all cancers through research, education, communication, collaboration, science policy and advocacy, and funding for cancer research. Only individuals whose work has had a significant and enduring impact on cancer research are considered for election and induction into the AACR Academy.

The Academy recognized Chen for his unrivaled leadership in the field of PD-L1 biology, including his fundamental research what led to the cloning of B7-H1(PD-L1), subsequent demonstration of the immunosuppressive functions of the B7-H1/PD-1 signaling pathway, the use of antibody blockade of this pathway as a cancer immunotherapy, and his pivotal discovery of co-stimulation as a mechanism to improve tumor immunity, which has since led to the development of breakthrough immunotherapy treatments for cancer.

“This year, we are thrilled to announce the election of 25 new Fellows of the AACR Academy. These individuals from across the globe have all made remarkable and crucial contributions to cancer research,” said Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc), Chief Executive Officer of the AACR. “The 2021 class consists of luminaries representing numerous scientific disciplines, whose work has significantly accelerated the pace of progress against various malignancies. We are honored to have them join our 231 existing Fellows and look forward to celebrating their unique scientific achievements.”

Chen joins two other current Yale Cancer Center members of the Academy: Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., MD, and Joseph Schlessinger, PhD.

Submitted by Anne Doerr on April 01, 2021