Skip to Main Content


Yale Cancer Center Annual Conclave Awards

January 13, 2023

This year’s awardees included:

Daniel C. DiMaio, MD, PhD, who was presented with the Yale Cancer Center Lifetime Achievement Award by Dr. Eric Winer. Dr. DiMaio, the Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Genetics and Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry and of Therapeutic Radiology, was recruited to Yale in 1983 by Dr. Sherman Weissman and Leon Rosenberg. He has served on the faculty and in leadership roles at Yale School of Medicine for nearly 40 years and as an advisor and mentor to countless students, graduate students, and faculty.

Manju Prasad, MD, MBBS, Professor of Pathology and Director of the Head & Neck and Endocrine Pathology Program and Saral Mehra, MD, MBA, FACS, Associate Professor of Surgery (Otolaryngology) and Section Chief, Head and Neck Surgery received the Yale Cancer Center Awards for Excellence in Clinical Care presented by Kevin Billingsley, MD, MBA, FACS. Dr. Prasad is internationally known for her expertise in the diagnosis of head and neck malignancies and leads the H&N fellowship program where students seek her mentorship from all over the world. Dr. Mehra was described as “a brilliant surgical technician, while warm and thoughtful leader for clinicians and colleagues.”

Nikhil Joshi, PhD, Associate Professor of Immunobiology, and Kurt Schalper, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Pathology and Medicine (Medical Oncology) and Director of the Translational Immuno-Oncology Lab received the prestigious Class of 1961 Cancer Research Award for their significant accomplishments in cancer research as young members of the faculty, coupled with the expectation for future outstanding contributions to the causes of cancer and the development of novel cancer treatments.

Michael S. Leapman, MD, MHS, Associate Professor of Urology and Clinical Program Leader, Prostate & Urologic Cancers Program and Sajid Khan, MD, FACS, FSSO, Associate Professor of Surgery (Surgical Oncology) and Section Chief, Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary (HPB) and Mixed Tumors received the Yale Cancer Center Population Science Research Prizes. Dr. Leapman was given his award for his work on the study “Mediators of Racial Disparity in the Use of Prostate Magnetic Resonance Imaging Among Patients With Prostate Cancer,” and Dr. Khan for “Evaluation of Racial Disparities in Quality of Care for Patients With Gastrointestinal Tract Cancer Treated With Surgery,” both published in JAMA Open Network.

The Ruth McCorkle Oncology Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Award was presented to Erin Medoff, APRN.

Barbara Burtness, MD, was awarded the Yale Cancer Center Award for Leadership in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI).

The Yale Cancer Center Award for Mentorship Excellence was presented to Xiaomei Ma, PhD.

The Yale Cancer Center Award for Teaching Excellence was presented to Sarah Golberg, MD, MPH.

The Yale Cancer Center Translational Science Research Prize was presented to Rachel Perry, PhD.

The Yale Cancer Center Clinical Science Research Prize was awarded to Joseph Kim, MD.

The Yale Cancer Center Basic Science Research Prizes were presented to Joseph Craft, MD, and Nikhil Joshi, PhD.

Submitted by Emily Montemerlo on January 13, 2023