Skip to Main Content

David A. Hafler, MD, FANA

William S. and Lois Stiles Edgerly Professor of Neurology and Professor of Immunobiology; Chair, Neurology; Neurologist-in-Chief, Yale New Haven Hospital

Contact Information

David A. Hafler, MD, FANA

Patient Care Location

Lab Location

Office Location



Dr. Hafler is the William S. and Lois Stiles Edgerly Professor and Chairman Department of Neurology, Yale School of Medicine and is the Neurologist-in-Chief of the Yale-New Haven Hospital. He graduated magna cum laude in 1974 from Emory University with combined B.S. and M.Sc. degrees in biochemistry, and the University of Miami School of Medicine in 1978. He then completed his internship in internal medicine at Johns Hopkins followed by a neurology residency at Cornell Medical Center-New York Hospital in New York.

Dr. Hafler received training in immunology at the Rockefeller University then at Harvard where he joined the faculty in 1984. He was one of the Executive Directors of the Program in Immunology at Harvard Medical School and was on the faculty of the Harvard-MIT Health Science and Technology program where he was actively involved in the training of graduate students and post-doctoral fellows.

Hafler, in many respects, is credited with identifying the central mechanisms underlying the likely cause of MS. His early seminal work demonstrated that the disease began in the blood, not the brain, which eventually led to the development of Tysabri to treat the disease by blocking the movement of immune cells from the blood to the brain. He was the first to identify myelin-reactive T cells in the disease, published in Nature, showing that indeed, MS was an autoimmune disorder. He then went on to show why autoreactive T cells were dysregulated by the first identification of regulatory T cells in humans followed by demonstration of their dysfunctional state in MS. As a founding, Broad Institute associate member, Hafler identified the genes that cause MS, published in the New England Journal of Medicine and Nature. More recently, he identified the key transcription factors and signaling pathways associated with MS genes as potential treatment targets. Finally, he recently discovered that salt drives induction of these pathogenic myelin reactive T cells, both works published in Nature. Hafler was the Breakstone Professor of Neuroscience at Harvard, and became Chairman of Neurology at Yale in 2009, where he has built an outstanding clinical and research program that strongly integrates medical sciences. Hafler is among the most highly cited living neurologists and has received numerous honors including the Dystel Prize from the AAN for his MS research, the Raymond Adams Award from the ANA, and was the recipient of the NIH Javits Investigator Award, and The Dale McFarlin Prize by the International Society of Neuroimmunology. He is a member of AOA, the American Society of Clinical Investigation, and was elected into the National Academy of Medicine.

Education & Training

  • Post-Doctoral Fellowship
    Harvard Medical School (1986)
  • Chief Resident
    The New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center, and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Institute (1982)
  • Assistant Resident
    The New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center, and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Institute (1981)
  • MD
    University of Miami School of Medicine (1978)
  • MS
    Emory University (1974)
  • BS
    Emory College, Chemistry (1974)
  • Visiting Scientist
    Rockefeller University

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
Elected Member of National Academy of MedicineNational Academy of Medicine2018
Raymond D. Adams LectureshipAmerican Neurological Association2015
John J. Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis ResearchAmerican Academy of Neurology2010
Distinguished Alumni “Hall of Fame” AwardUniversity of Miami2010
Best Doctors in BostonBest of Boston2008
Honorary MemberScandinavian Society for Immunology2005
Most Highly Cited List in the field of ImmunologyISI2004
The Jacobs Javits Merit Investigator AwardNIH2004
Best Doctors in America2000
Elected MemberAmerican Society for Clinical Investigation1993
Elected MemberAmerican Neurological Association1991
Harry Weaver ScholarNational Multiple Sclerosis Society1985
AOAUniversity of Miami1977

Departments & Organizations